My mama told me there’d be days like this.

Standard

I am in pain. I am tired. I am windburned. Lets just say today didn’t go so entirely well!

After my lovely injured weekend I woke this morning at my usual 7 am time. Although this morning I didn’t get out of bed. I lay there for another hour trying to find the motivation to move my lazy bum. I finally found that motivation in smelling the coffee my husband made and in wanting breakfast so badly! I pulled on my running clothes so that I would have no excuse to get back into bed and went downstairs.

After a nice breakfast of oatmeal and coffee (fiber of CHAMPIONS!) I skyped my sister for a few minutes to let my food digest. Then I embarked on my run.

Let me just narrate my thoughts on this particular run. I believe I will get the point across easier.

*walking* I’m cold. Why is the wind blowing? Its so cold….I’m cold and tired.

*running* This isn’t terrible. OH WAIT….there it is. Who is punching me in the stomach? Who are you and what do you want?

*walking again* Ow…ow….ow….. (weeping and gnashing of teeth ensues)

*running* I WANT TO DIE. SOMEONE CALL AND AMBULANCE. I think I am experiencing cardiac arrest! 

*running* Ok you big baby, pick up the pace (starts running faster….almost sprains other ankle….slows down) run….just listen to Daft Punk….they are telling you Harder, Better, faster, STronger. DO IT!

*cool down walk* ooooooo pretty flowers. I love breathing again. 

So that was pretty much my experience today. On my cooldown the sun came out from behind the fog, the flowers were blooming, and the dogs were barking at me as if to say “Hey you….give us food.” It got better. It also feels better to know that I can pick up my pace. I was averaging 6 minutes per mile before my cool down went and busted up my average.

Stretching also felt nice today. I threw in a couple Sun Salutations from yoga and let me tell you. Downward Dog is AMAZING for stretching your calves.

All in all I feel good that I went. I will feel even better after a few cups of tea and a back rub. =-)

In other news here are the before pictures your were promised. I apologize that they are blurry. They were taken on a phone.

 

I am learning that its not about how you feel in the morning. Its about pushing yourself to do something you didn’t think you could and feeling better after its over.

 

-Lydia

3 responses »

  1. It’s always tough at the beginning of anything that takes effort. Good job for pushing past the “I don’t wannas” and getting out there. That is actually the toughest part in my book. Once you’ve gotten out there you will find you usually just go do it but getting out that door can be seriously difficult. Good job.

Leave a Reply

