It gets better

Standard

Today, I didn’t want to run. Shocking….I know. I woke up at 7 as per usual. I made myself a lovely breakfast (yogurt with strawberries and almonds, and my morning glass of tea.) I watched the news (aka The Daily Show…) And I contemplated how it would feel to run in 30 degree weather. (Not great it turns out.) So, I waited two hours for it to warm up during which time I wrote a chapter on my novel, knit a few rows on my shawl, and ate three bites of my breakfast (TERRIBLE IDEA.)

It came about 9 am and I knew it was time to run. So I threw on every piece of running clothing I own ( t-shirt, sports bra, undershirt, insulated jacket, leggings, shorts, socks, shoes..) I was warm, for about a minute. I got outside and it had warmed up just a bit. My warm up walk felt kinda meh, but I thought; “This will get better.” It sort of did.

The first three runs were torture. Pure, unadulterated, Spanish Inquisition torture. There were thoughts of

“I’ll never run again.”

“I should take up biking instead.”

” I am so hungry! I think I’m going to throw up.”

” Where is the redo button on my day.”

and

“Shut up Katy Perry. I don’t care what kind of girl you are.”

By the third session, and many many thoughts of giving up, as if he was some angel a sweet old many stopped me. He was carrying his dog, and looked chipper as can be. ” What a champion runner we have here.”

I held back tears and smiled. Then kept running, picking up my pace just a little. After that I saw three sets of mothers with schools of children in their wake. They were precious, and I garnered smiles from every one of them. I realized then that its not how well you run, its not about your race, its about the people you see along your routes. Those smiles and comments made all the pain worth it.

I realized three things today. 1) Treadmills are easy. 2)It wont always be fun running. 3) It gets better. I have faith that through my dissapointing days, through the rain and wind, there will be someone cheering me on.

That, my friends, makes it all worth it.

 

-Lydia

One response »

Leave a Reply

