Husband to the rescue!

Standard

Couch to 5k week three day one…..has been rocked! I told you the other day about how scared I have been to work up to running for more than the minimum amount. Three minutes of solid running has had me in a tizzy for days now. I have been in fear of the long stretch. Today that fear was conquered.

In case you are not familiar Week three consists of 5 minute warm up walk, then run 90 seconds, walk 90 seconds, run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes rinse and repeat. It sounds quite terrifying when its double what you have run before. Well, my hero came in and encouraged the crap out of me! My husband ran with me today. I have discovered that this is way more fun than running alone. Mainly due to the fact that you can crack jokes together while you are walking. Also, he held my phone so I wasn’t constantly looking down checking my time, which also helped.

Just having that support, that friendly arm to lean on, helped so immensely that I am thinking of baking the man a cake! He kept me motivated. He also told me that I was probably running too fast for a beginner….that was an ego boost. I told him that I felt stupid running any slower than I was.

We ended our training with a quick race to the end. A sprint of pure fun. And it was fun. It was one of the first times I have laughed during all of this training.

Anyway, today marks two weeks gone on my journey to health. I feel better, stronger, faster……all those other adjectives. I also feel more positive. More positive about life, about where I am, and about my abilities. Thank you all for helping me get there, and please join me for a lot more weeks of fitness!

-Lydia

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

