Yoga and Running. The perfect marriage.

Standard

(photo credit- Tumblr.com)

I would like to start by apologizing for neglecting the blog. I know you all have been waiting with bated breath to hear about my newest exploits into the world of fitness. The biggest reason I haven’t written is because I have been applying and waiting for some news on things I will announce today. The other reason is because I tried hot yoga for the first time this weekend and it hurt.

First, the big announcement. I have been given the green light on funding and entrance into yoga teacher training this summer. I will complete a 200 hour course that will certify me to teach power yoga! I am extremely excited. I have been doing yoga for many years and have looked into various teacher training programs, but they were always too far away (like in Bali…) or too expensive. This one just fell into my lap. I was emailed by the employment office on base (I receive their emails because I am job hunting….yay) about a teacher training course that (if you qualify) the military will pay for. I am so glad I found it now because if I had even applied next year we wouldn’t have qualified (it required O-2 and below.) I start on June 7th, and am more than thrilled.

Second, the exercises. I have completed c25k week 6 days one and two this week. As well as several sessions of power yoga (one hot one sculpt, with weights.) If you have never participated in hot yoga you will find it exhausting….I know I did. But afterward, you feel so fresh, so revived, like all the toxins are out of your body and you get to start over. It was the perfect way to start my week. I also got to be taught by the woman who will be the head of teacher training. She was WONDERFUL! So energetic and fun. It will be a joy to be trained by her.

As for my two days of running. The first I did with Brett. We went trail running on a path he found near our house. It ended up taking us just over an hour to run 5k, and I whined the entire way. It was horribly embarrassing. After two yoga sessions in one day I was incredibly sore, so my running was a bit stunted. I am getting back into it. Today went quite well, and I look forward to yoga tonight and tomorrow, with some running thrown in on Sunday.

Hopefully you wont get too annoyed when this blog starts transforming from my running journey to my journey into yoga teaching. I will keep running, but yoga will start to be my main focus. Also, come Sept I will be so busy with finishing school on time that I will truly have to work to fit in my work outs.

Do you have any tips on how to balance work, school, family, and fitness?

Namaste

Lydia

 

2 responses »

  1. Amazing that that just fell into your lap! Running with Brett combines both family & fitness, even just once in a while is nice. Please don’t be too hard on yourself while you’re trying to find balance. You’re going to want to do everything just right, but give your own self the grace you so freely offer to others. Praying for you. xo

  2. I don’t have a “job-job” as some would consider (I sell some crochet products online), nor am I currently in school, but I do have a houseful of young children (three *under* the age of three), and I’d say the key is to manage your time, set yourself deadlines and goals and stick with it. Routines will probably work very well for you. Just a suggestion.

Leave a Reply

